You’re busy at work on your computer or a mobile phone and a message suddenly pops up saying, “a software update is available” or “an upgrade is available”. So you click “cancel” instead of “install” or “update”, thinking you’ll get to it later, but you never do. Sound familiar?
Normally a software update is a new, improved, or fixed software, which replaces older versions of the same software while a software upgrade is a new version of the software that offers a significant change or major improvement over the current version.
Most of the time, it is easy to skip these updates and upgrades because they can take up a few minutes of our time and may not seem that important. But this is a mistake that may put you at risk. Here are the reasons why – as explained by experts.
“If we made an ID scanner that photographs and displays information of someone’s ID card and now we want to add another feature of scanning a driving license permit card, we won’t give the users new devices or visit each one of them to change it. Instead, we will send them notifications for updates that include that new feature. When they accept, they will start using the new feature,” he said.
“We can send you a notification to upgrade your software to a new version maybe because our previous version has been hacked and we have now strengthened it with robust settings. If you do not do it, you can receive irrelevant information from a hacker – not from the actual app service provider,”